Quality guaranteed:

In my day-to-day work, I am firmly committed to the two maxims quality and adherence to deadlines:

  • The quality of any translation is primarily measured based on whether it is able to render the exact meaning of the original text into the target language. A good translation is more or less low-key: When reading the text, it does not come across as "translated", but instead as if it had been originally written in the target language.
  • In order to be able to guarantee that my quality level remains consistent, I always plan my delivery date with extreme care, because being able to adhere to the agreed upon delivery date is the second principle I strictly stand by in the work I provide.

When clarifying terms that I might not understand, it goes without saying that in addition to the general dictionaries and special technical dictionaries I use in my work, I research the topic in-depth. If in doubt, it might also be necessary that I contact my client to request clarification on some issues.

Pile of dictionaries

Among the dictionaries I work with on a day-to-day basis are the most recent versions of the German Duden dictionary and the Oxford English Dictionary. Moreover, I also refer to an extensive collection of printed, digital and online resources, such as the Dictionary of Engineering and Technology published by Oscar Brandstetter Verlag, the EU's multilingual term base IATE, the multilingual editorial dictionary and search engine Linguee, the online LEO Dictionary, or the uitmuntend dictionary.

Prior to completing my translation, I always run automatic checks, such as a spell checkers and also perform manual proofreading steps (I attentively proofread the translation on a printed hardcopy).

Qualitätsgarantie

Bei meiner täglichen Arbeit verpflichte ich mich den beiden Maximen Qualität und Termintreue:

  • Die Güte einer Übersetzung bemisst sich primär danach, ob der genaue Sinn des Ausgangstextes in der Zielsprache wiedergegeben wird. Zudem sollte eine gute Übersetzung eben nicht als solche auffallen: Der Text liest sich nicht „übersetzt“, sondern als wäre er in dieser Sprache erstellt worden.
  • Um mein Qualitätsniveau durchgängig garantieren zu können, plane ich den Liefertermin stets sehr sorgfältig, denn die Einhaltung des vereinbarten Termins ist der zweite unumstößliche Grundsatz meiner Arbeit.

Die Verwendung von allgemeinen Wörterbüchern und speziellen Fachwörterbüchern ist, neben der intensiven Recherche nach unklaren Begriffen, eine Selbstverständlichkeit. In Zweifelsfällen kann es auch notwendig sein, unklare Stellen beim Auftraggeber anzufragen.

Stapel Wörterbücher

Zu den Wörterbüchern, mit denen ich täglich arbeite, zählen der aktuelle Rechtschreibduden und das Oxford English Dictionary. Des Weiteren greife ich auf eine umfangreiche Sammlung von gedruckten, digitalen und Online-Ressourcen zurück, wie z. B. das Wörterbuch der industriellen Technik vom Oscar Brandstetter Verlag, die EU-Terminologie-Datenbank IATE, die mehrsprachig suchende Web-Suchmaschine Linguee, das LEO-Wörterbuch oder das Wörterbuch uitmuntend.

Vor Abschluss führe ich stets automatische Prüfungen, u. a. auf Rechtschreibung, sowie einen manuellen Korrekturschritt (akribisches Korrektorat auf Papierausdruck) durch.